Life in COLOUR: Tobago Between Dives and Through My Lens

My quest to live a fulfilling life through doing what I love, lead me to spend the last week on Trinidad’s neighboring island, Tobago. I love the ocean, I love to swim and I love to dive, scuba dive. When I was ten years old my dad introduced scuba diving to my brother and I. While my dad immediately deemed my eight year old brother a ‘natural’ I was more hesitant. Being able to spend an extended period of time beneath the surface was quite exhilarating however having to do drills that included filling up my face mask with water and removing my regulator whilst submerged acted as significant deterrents for me. Over the following years my fears of these activities subsided and I was able to calmly and comfortably complete the required tasks, this permitted much more diving time that I really appreciated. As much as I enjoyed being on scuba, my ears did not. It was painful and subsequently, impossible for me to equalize for quite a few months and for a while I focused more on my sailing leaving scuba diving to lay on the seabed of my activities.

As it went my ears sorted themselves out and I had completely overcome any fears of diving on scuba. Soon enough I was going to be certified but after a bit of a turn around that didn’t happen and it was not until six years later that I finally became a  certified PADI Open Water Diver. One year later I had completed my PADI Advanced Open Water training and over the last week I completed my PADI Rescue Diver and Emergency First Response course. My next goal is to do my PADI Divemaster course which runs for a duration of at least three weeks and upon completion will permit me to lead dives of other certified divers. If it is His will I’ll be doing this certification in July. Getting my Divemaster will not only be part of further committing some of my time to an activity that I love but it will also be putting my training and skills to use so that one day it shall be a lucrative source of income… once again if it is His will. He’s leading and I’m following.

On my trip to Tobago I took my Nikon D3200 as well as my Vivitar  DVR785HD (Vivitar’s take on the GoPro) with which I took some underwater video footage, due to negligence I didn’t bring any lights with me so the video is very blue… The D3200 was a bit of an adventure because although it remained back at the house most days, whenever I took it out with me I shot on Manual. Manual was somewhat of a challenge in that I often forgot to change settings every time I changed location in the beginning but I came around and my shots towards the end of the trip are pretty impressive I think. For editing I used mostly the software that came with the camera (NX2) as well as Picasa 3.

I hope you enjoy these shots. I really tried to make them into art not just moments frozen in time.
If you like what you see here then comment, like and share with a friend. If not, tell me how you think I can improve my work. Always open to suggestions.

Live with love, peace, joy and passion!
Rushell Rousseau

 

SHOUTOUT! To my parents somewhere on the other side of the pond who will be up in a few hours and will see this. Love!

DSC_4610
Lilies decorating the home of the Caiman at the Magdelina Grand Tobago



God's canvas The evening sky with a silhouetted Salmon tree. Shot in my uncle's backyard in Bon Accord
God’s canvas
The evening sky with a silhouetted Salmon tree. Shot in my uncle’s backyard in Bon Accord.

 

This picture feels incomplete to me, not the image itself but the scene. It feels like something is missing and that is intriguing.
This picture feels incomplete to me, not the image itself but the scene. It feels like something is missing and that is intriguing.

 

Reflection on the day.
Reflection on the day.

 

The following two pictures are two variations of one picture. The shot on top shows the use of the spot as well as captivates the scenery with the earth covering and the mossy river while the shot beneath shows the wisdom that I feel escaping from this spot. While all of the other benches faced away from the sea this bench faced the sea, quietly it remained among the almond trees and the river but with determination it looks across the miles of coral reef that must first be traversed before reaching the open Atlantic seas. It was shot at Speyside opposite the Manta Lodge Resort. If I ever needed to have a life altering conversation with someone this would be my location of choice.

DSC_4055

 

DSC_4054

 

The waterwheel through the brickwork.
The waterwheel through the redbrick arch with as many colours that I could have brought out as possible. 

 

 

A branch parallel to the sea shore. It really was that bright orange colour.
An almond tree’s branch parallel to the sea shore. It really was that bright orange colour.

 

Changing angles. Similar to my other waterwheel photo above instead of capturing this structure in the way that it usually is I decided to mix things up a bit. While the previous shot of the waterwheel is framed by an arched brick wall approximately 200m in front of it this shot was captured from beneath a section of the waterwheel looking up into the Eastern sky.
                                                                             Changing angles                                                                                    Similar to my other waterwheel photo above instead of capturing this structure in the way that it usually is I decided to mix things up a bit. While the previous shot of the waterwheel is framed by an arched brick wall approximately 200m in front of it, this shot was captured from beneath a section of the waterwheel looking up into the Eastern sky.

Well you’ve come to the end of this blog post and I hope you have thoroughly enjoyed my pieces.
If you live in either Trinidad or Grenada you may order prints of any of my pictures on this blog. Feel free to support and contact me through rush_TRI0055@hotmail.com

Happy MONDAY morning!
Rushell

 

3 thoughts on “Life in COLOUR: Tobago Between Dives and Through My Lens

  1. Love how your photo work is progressing. That first shot of the water lilies looks like an impressionist painting–I kid you not. Check this link: http://artseverydayliving.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/Monet-blog-water-lilies-musee-marmottan1.jpg

    Fabulous sunset work… Salmon tree or samaan?

    Ahh, Speyside. Dream place.

    The waterwheel shot! Amazing!

    Okay, I was going to compliment you on the experimental colour work on the almond tree but then I read the caption… Really that colour? I’d back away very quickly. 😀

    I’ll tell you something I told Rich back in the earlies: You have an eye for unusual, interesting angles. Keep up the good work! You’re moving ahead in leaps and bounds.

    Like

    1. Wow it really is! To be honest I looked up the spelling of it because at first I had samaan then I looked it up and changed it to Salmon Tree but I think Samaan is right. Thanks for the response and motivation!!
      😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

