All You Dreamers…

Have you every read words that went straight through you to the deepest parts of your mind and heart? Words that you wanted to remember for the rest of your life or maybe rekindle the flickering flames of an experience of the past? Words that you won’t let go of?

When I lived in Barbados, one of my housemates from California had a tattoo on her scapula, “invincible summer”, it was a beautiful tattoo in quite an obvious place. She said that it was from a book that she read in her first semester of university and when she read those words, she felt like it applied to her life. She would not let these words go.

“In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. 
And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there’s something stronger- something better, pushing right back.”
Albert Camus

That quote makes me feel something and I think that almost everyone who reads it feels something. That was her quote, I found mine today. It was found just scrolling through Instagram, not looking for quotes but beautiful photographic inspiration. Here it is:

“If you are a dreamer come in,
If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar,
A hoper a pray-er a magic-bean-buyer,
If you’re a pretender, come sit by my fire,
For we have some flax golden tales to spin.
Come in!
Come in!

It’s a poem called, The Invitation by Shel Silverstein. I think it is beautiful. I read it and I intend to answer to this invitation, everyday for the rest of my life. Maybe I won’t tattoo it on me, I don’t need to. Maybe one day I will, maybe I won’t.

What’s your call?
Have you been answering?

Love you,
Rushell

Leave a Reply

