Happy Birthday to the Woman Who Carried Me

Nine months, yes, that was only the beginning.

DSC_9769


Disclaimer: I know that ‘she‘ is the cat’s mother. However, I beg permission to use the pronoun in the way that it was intended for this blog post without intending any disrespect.


She’s been carrying me everyday since, she’ll carry me everyday of her life. It’s inevitable.

DSC_9799

On October 3rd* she carried me home. Then she carried me to get check ups. She carried me up stairs, out of doors, into warm arms, she carried me. She carried me to the grocery. She carried me to the beach. She carried me to a nursery. She carried me to bed.

She carried me to Tobago. She carried me to preschool. She carried me home. She carried me to school. Then she carried me home. She carried me to the hospital when I swallowed a coin.  She carried me to Trinidad.

mom-and-i

She carried me to swimming. She carried me to camp. Then she carried me to ballet for six years. She carried me to swimming for another ten years. She carried me to sailing. She carried me across the world.

She carried me to the airport.

mom-and-i-3

She’s carried me lots and lots of places. She’s spent numerous hours carrying me places. She’s invested so much effort and energy into carrying me to these places. Difficult, perhaps. Frustrating, yes, I’m often late.

All of this carrying.

You thought that it was nine months but oh, my dear, it is for so much longer that you will carry this child that you bear.

She’s carried me in her heart for all of these years and there a version of myself will always remain.

 

mom-and-i-again
Mom’s not one for putting on acts, this is what we look like regularly.

I’m not there with her physically but I’m with her everyday nonetheless. She’ll always carry me.

Happy Birthday beautiful!
Thank you for teaching me so much

 

One thought on “Happy Birthday to the Woman Who Carried Me

Leave a Reply

